Julien Osman

Ingénieur développement logiciels. Docteur en télédétection.

Career


Lisez-moi en français

Since April 2020

Technical manager at CS GROUP - France

Development of the remote sensing library Orfeo Toolbox.

July 2015 - March 2020

Software Engineer at Thales Services SAS

2020

Development of simulation tools for the MicroCarb project

Setting up of a protocol for the generation of simulation images for the MicroCarb project. Development of tools (Python) to easily run the simulations on the CNES' calculation cluster.

2019

Technical support for the Image Quality service at CNES

The Image Quality as CNES develops multiples algorithms to assess the FTM of satellite images. Creation of a GUI (Qt PyQt) for those algorithms. Setting up of virtual machine to make the tools easy to use on various environments. Creating tests to assess the impact of vibration on a test bench.Generation of images simulations for the validation of the Darwin-CU chain.

Technical support for the atmospheric correction of Sentinel-2 products

In the framework of a competition organized by the NASA and the l'ESA, the CNES uses it's atmospheric correction and cloud detection algorithm MAJA over big volume of data. Development of tools for the preparation of the input data, launching the processing on the HPC, and the delivery of the output data. Python development using linux and Pycharm. Running the processing on a HPC using PBS. Configuration management with Git et Gitlab.

Development of a proof of concept using images localization

Industrialization of LibGeo, a C++ library for satellite images localization. This library allows one to compute the localization (latitude/longitude) of a pixel according to it's position in the image, and inversely. Use of this library for a proof of concept for the generation of DEM from a couple of images.

2018

Mission at IRT Saint-Exupéry

Work on Deep Learning applyed to satellite image analyse (target detection, classification, change detection). Use of active learning techniques to compensate the lack of training data. Development of an active learning application allowing the training of deep neural networks over the cloud, and the labeling of wisely selected samples by presenting them to an operator to increase the training set. Python development using linux and Pycharm. Use of the Tensorflow and Keras library. Processing distributed on the Google Cloud Platform. Configuration management with Git and Phabricator.

Study: Large Scale Object Based Image Analysis

Scaling object oriented, segmentation algorithms base on adjacency graph. Use of the C++ library Orfeo ToolBox. Processes distributed on a HPC, with synchronisation between the nodes using MPI. This work is available on GitHub.

2016-2017

**Design and development of a calibration workshop.

Implementation using Python of various approaches for in-flight satellite calibration. Principal library used: Numpy, Pandas et GDAL. DevOps. Configuration management with Git, Gitlab and RedMine.

2015-2016

Development of an application for satellite image processing used in image quality centers

Image processing algorithms implementation (for image quality assessment). setting up of an orchestrator for on-ground processing. Development of an on-bord configuration files manager. Python development using linux and Pycharm. Use of the SAG framwork (Structure d’Accueil Générique) with Isatis-ng. Use of the GDAL, Numpy, MatPlotLib and gnuPlot libraries. Use of the Phoebus-Lite orchestrator. Configuration management with SVN, Jira and Maven.

April - July 2015

Research Engineer at Centre d'Étude Spatiale de la BIOsphère (CESBIO)

Development of a data access object (DAO) for the DART model using Python.

February - April 2015

Research Engineer at Centre d'Étude Spatiale de la BIOsphère (CESBIO)

Integrating the tools used during my PhD (Markov Logic Network) into the toolbox of the laboratory.

November 2011 - February 2015

PhD Candidate at Centre d'Étude Spatiale de la BIOsphère (CESBIO)

Evaluation of the influence of expert knowledge and prior information on the generation of land-cover maps. Development of test algorithms with a C++ library. Use of Markov Logic Networks and Support Vector Machine. For more information, visite the dedicated page.

September 2012 - March 2013

Secondment at Instituto National de Pesquisas Espaciais (INPE - Brazilian National Space Agency)

Evaluation of the influence of expert knowledge and prior information on the generation of a probability map to monitor the areas with a high likelihood of being deforested.

February - November 2011

Research Engineer at Centre d'Étude Spatiale de la BIOsphère (CESBIO)

Fusion of Sentinel-2 and Proba-V/Sentinel-3 Images for Multi-Temporal Land-Cover Map Production. Implementation and optimization and validation of some algorithms in C++. Evaluation of their efficiency.

February - Mai 2011

Software Engineer at Accenture Technology Solutions

Development of a C# application to help after-sell service to follow up with incoming requests. Connection with an Access data base.

September 2008 - September 2010

Volunteer Missionary for the The Church Of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Non-profit worldwide organization)

Human relationship, conflict management, planning and monitoring of objectives, teaching techniques training.

February - June 2008

Research Engineer at Centre National d'Études Spatiales (CNES)

Development of an high-resolution, satellite images segmenting application, in preparation for the Pleiades satellites. Study and implementation of SVM (Support vector machine) with the C++ library Orfeo ToolBox. Validation of results and documentation.

Julien Osman

Ingénieur développement logiciels. Docteur en télédétection.

Carrière


Read me in English

Depuis avril 2020

Responsable technique chez CS Systèmes d'Information

Entre juillet 2015 et mars 2020

Ingénieur développement logiciels chez Thales Services SAS

2020

Développement d'outils de simulation pour le projet MicroCarb

Mise en place d'un protocole de génération de simulation pour le projet MicroCarb. Développement des outils de lancement des simulations sur le cluster de calcul du CNES.

2019

Assistance technique pour le service Qualité Image du CNES

Le service Qualité Image du CNES développe plusieurs algorithmes pour évaluer la FTM des images satellite. Création d'IHM (Qt et PyQt) pour faciliter le lancement des algorithmes. Mise en place d'une machine virtuelle permettant de rendre portatifs les différents outils. Mise en place de tests pour évaluer l'impacte de vibrations sur des banc de tests. Génération d'images de simulation pour la validation de la chaine Darwin-CU

Assistance technique pour la correction atmosphérique de produits Sentinel-2

Dans le cadre d'un concours organisé par la NASA et l'ESA, le CNES utilise son algorithme de correction atmosphérique et de détection de nuages MAJA sur un grand volume de donnée. Développement d'outils pour la préparation des données d'entrée, le lancement des traitement sur HPC et la préparation des données de sorties à livrer. Développement Python sous linux avec Pycharm. Lancement de traitements sur HPC avec PBS. Gestion de configuration Git et Gitlab.

Développement d'une preuve de concept utilisant la localisation d'images

Industrialisation de LibGeo, une bibliothèque C++ de localisation (directe et inverse) pour les images satellite. Cette bibliothèque permet de calculer la localisation (latitude/longitude) d'un pixel, en fonction de sa position dans l'image, et inversement. Utilisation de cette bibliothèque pour une preuve de concept de génération de MNT à partir d'un couple d'images.

2018

Mise à disposition à l'IRT Saint-Exupéry

Travaux sur le Deep Learning appliqué à l'analyse d'images satellite (détection de cibles, classification, détection de changements). Utilisation de techniques d'active learning pour pallier au manque de données d'apprentissage. Développement d'une application d'active learning permettant d'effectuer l'apprentissage de réseaux de neurones profonds sur le cloud, et la présentation à un opérateur d'échantillons judicieusement choisi pour faire grandir le jeu de données d'apprentissage. Développement Python sous linux avec Pycharm. Utilisation des bibliothèques Tensorflow et Keras. Calculs distribués sur le Google Cloud Platform. Gestion de configuration Git et Phabricator.

Etude : Analyse Objet Large Echelle pour l’Imagerie (T)HR

Passage à l'échelle d'algorithmes de segmentation orientés objet en se basant sur un graphe d'adjacence. Développement en C++ avec utilisation de la bibliothèque Orfeo ToolBox. Lancement des traitements distribués sur un HPC et synchronisation des noeuds de calculs avec le protocol MPI. Les travaux réalisés sont disponibles sur GitHub.

2016-2017

Conception et développement d'un atelier d'étalonnage pour les imageurs optiques

Implémentation en Python de différentes approches pour l'étalonnage en vol des satellites. Utilisation de bibliothèques comme Numpy, Pandas et GDAL. DevOps. Gestion de configuration avec Git, Gitlab et RedMine.

2015-2016

Développement d'une application de traitement d'images satellites pour les centres de qualité image

Implémentation d'algorithmes de traitement d'images (traitements métiers Qualité Image). Mise en place d'un enchaineur de traitements du segment sol. Développement des traitements de gestion des paramètres bord. Gestion des fichiers de paramètres du satellite. Développement Python sous Linux avec Pycharm. Utilisation du framework SAG (Structure d’Accueil Générique) avec Isatis-ng. Utilisation des bibliothèques GDAL, Numpy, MatPlotLib et gnuPlot. Utilisation de l'orchestrateur Phoebus-Lite. Gestion de configuration avec SVN, Jira et Maven.

Entre avril et juillet 2015

Ingénieur de recherche au Centre d'Étude Spatiale de la BIOsphère (CESBIO)

Développement d'un objet d'accès aux données (DAO) en Python pour le modèle DART.

Entre février et avril 2015

Ingénieur de recherche au Centre d'Étude Spatiale de la BIOsphère (CESBIO)

Intégration des outils utilisés pendant mon doctorat dans la boite à outils du laboratoire.

Entre novembre 2011 et février 2015

Doctorant au Centre d'Étude Spatiale de la BIOsphère (CESBIO)

Étude de l'influence des connaissances expertes et des connaissances a priori sur la génération de carte d'occupation du sol. Développement d'algorithmes de tests avec des bibliothèques C++. Utilisation des Réseaux de Logique de Markov (MLN) et des Machines à Vecteur de Support (SVM). Voir la page dédiée pour plus d'informations

Entre septembre 2012 et mars 2013

Détachement à l'Instituto National de Pesquisas Espaciais (INPE - l'agence spatiale brésilienne)

Étude de l'influence des connaissances expertes et des connaissances a priori sur la génération de carte de probabilité pour la surveillance des zones à fort risque de déforestation sauvage.

Entre février et novembre 2011

Ingénieur de recherche au Centre d'Étude Spatiale de la BIOsphère (CESBIO)

Fusion d'images Sentinel-2 et Proba-V/Sentinel-3 pour la production de cartes d'occupation du sol multi-temporelles. Implémentation, optimisation et validation de quelques algorithmes en C++. Évaluation de leur efficacité.

Entre février et mai 2011

Ingénieur développement logiciels chez Accenture Technology Solutions

Développement d'une application C# d'aide au suivi de tickets pour le service après-vente d'une administration. Connexion à une base de donnée Access.

Entre septembre 2008 et septembre 2010

Missionnaire bénévole pour l'Église de Jésus-Christ des Saints des Derniers Jours (association internationale à but non lucratif)

Relations humaines, résolution de conflits, planification et suivi d'objectifs, formation aux techniques d'enseignement.

Entre février et juin 2008

Ingénieur de recherche au Centre National d'Études Spatiales (CNES)

Développement d'une application de segmentation d'images satellites hautes résolution, en préparation du lancement des satellites Pleiades. Étude et implémentation des Machines à Vecteur de Support (SVM) avec la bibliothèque C++ Orfeo ToolBox. Validation des résultats et documentation.